Everything Changes

19 Oct

I’ve been a Dad for almost five months now, and yet in so many ways it’s hard to really remember what life was like before my daughter was born.  I kinda sorta have a feeling of what that was like, but (and remember, I’m now chronically sleep-deprived, so I can only follow a thought for so long) I just lose it like a hazy flashback.  I know my wife and I lived like a couple of cool kids in Brooklyn, we had food delivered a lot, and we enjoyed sharing a pint of beer and a cider at our favorite pub on a Sunday afternoon.

Now, well, now we feel pretty successful when we manage to grab a pizza and stay awake past ten o’clock.  Nothing’s easy, and yet everything’s so much better. It’s like the day my daughter was born somebody opened up the control panel on our lives and turned the vibrancy and color and emotion from “normal” to “extraordinary.”

I was thinking about all of this today when I checked in with a friend of mine from way back who’s about to join the Daddy club at the end of the year.  I thought of a bunch of snarky things to tell him, but then realized I’m just so happy for him.  And I realized I’ve got a lot to say about this here Dad life.  So instead of trying to work damn this burp cloth ROCKS posts into my news blog, I’ll just go ahead complete the picture:  SUV has replaced the 5-speed, massive exhaustion has replaced mild exhaustion, shopping for shirts at Lucky has been replaced by shopping for stuff at Baby Gap.  And now–Daddyblogging.

It had to happen.

 

8 Responses to “Everything Changes”

  1. @TVAmy October 19, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    So glad “it” happened to you. I’ll enjoy this 🙂 Makes life sooooo much better !!!

  2. Lizzy October 19, 2010 at 7:33 pm #

    Every time I read something posted by you on your wife’s blog, or on Twitter, I’m struck by what an amazing husband and father you sound like. Your wife and daughter are two very, very lucky ladies. Keep up the good work :).

    • standupkid October 19, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

      Lizzy,

      Thanks so much–that is very very nice of you to say that. I try!

      Mark

  3. Rosalba October 19, 2010 at 8:32 pm #

    That is one of the sweetest things I’ve read in a long time! How very blessed!
    R

  4. Nana November 19, 2010 at 3:23 am #

    I loved the post and I loved all the “we” little sayings and giggled and loved even more the “my” daughter lol daddy says we we we all the way home to his daughter
    thank you and keep up the blog ..it is nice to hear both sides of parenting

Leave a Reply

