Fear of Falling

19 Oct

I’ve been a baby-carrying member of the Dad tribe for nearly five months, and yet while I’ve made progress in some areas (being able to sleep without worrying that something awful will happen if I let down my guard and close my eyes), I’m making NO progress in, well, walking.

Now with a few decades of walking already under my belt–even running–I previously felt pretty confident in my ability to make it through a day without falling on my ass.  Save for a few ice and snow related slips, I can count on one hand the number of times I’ve just simply taken a spill in good weather conditions.

But now?  Damn, when did those stairs get so damn scary? Every single time I walk the stairs with my daughter in my arms I have a flash of falling.  Every time.  I think, damn, am I wearing socks?  On hardwood? With a baby in my arms?  Have I lost my damn mind?  What’s with the reckless rebel act?

I’m sure this is normal (is this normal?), but wow, it’s not like I don’t have real stress already with a baby in the house.  And it’s not like getting used to riding a bike with clip-in pedals, where you worry about falling and worry about falling and then you do fall, and all of a sudden you don’t worry anymore.

Not about to slide down the stairs with the baby just to get it out of my system.  No should I wear hiking boots in the house?  Set up a safety harness?  Move to a different house without stairs and a gymnastics surface instead of hardwood floors?

Or could I just get bubble wrap onesies for my daughter?

11 Responses to “Fear of Falling”

  1. Vincent aka CuteMonsterDad October 19, 2010 at 11:09 am #

    Ascending and descending stairs can be precarious, especially when handling precious cargo such as your bambino. The fact that you’re so meticulous with your movements should be a source of comfort to you. Good Dad points, heck Good Parent points, awarded to you sir. Keep up the stellar work. Whatever challenges your journalistic career may have presented you, fatherhood will by far surpass them.

    A roundup up of some of CuteMonster.com ‘s best articles:

    Popular CuteMonster Articles

    • standupkid October 19, 2010 at 11:11 am #

      Vincent!

      Thanks for checking the blog out! I think I need to add a blogroll since there are so many good Dadblogs like yours.

      Mark

  2. MSW October 20, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    This is when handrails come in handy.

    • standupkid October 20, 2010 at 12:32 pm #

      Wait. What are handrails? Do I need to buy those?

  3. Nikole October 22, 2010 at 4:37 pm #

    My neighbour installed doors on her staircase.. one at the bottom the other at the top but that’s for when bambino starts crawling and walking

    • standupkid October 22, 2010 at 5:23 pm #

      Nikole,

      I’m afraid if we ever installed doors on our stairs, not only would it look weird, but I’d just open the door and then fall down the stairs!

    • Nikole October 23, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Haha the picket looking ones are cute especially when done with the dame colour as the railings… you could try some of those no-skid socks your bambino wears.

  4. shelly October 25, 2010 at 9:01 am #

    Take it from a mom of 15 years, its a valid fear. When my oldest was a baby we lived in an apartment that had quite a few stairs. I slipped down them 5 times, 4 times holding my daughter.

    Youd be surprised how you can think while going, every time I held my daughter in a way where she wasnt hurt at all, and the last couple of times she actually rode down on my belly giggling, and when we hit bottom looked at me and went AGAIN.

    (its carpet stairs that get you, not hardwood TRUST ME!!!)

  5. Laura October 25, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Go to Children’s Place and ask if they make those skid-proof, free-advertisment socks of theirs in your size!

    • standupkid October 25, 2010 at 5:30 pm #

      Yes! And a “Little Cutie” shirt in a men’s medium? Hello? Why are you calling security?

  6. Nana November 19, 2010 at 3:32 am #

    what Shelly says is true..if you do fall you will subconsiously do whatever needs to be done to protect the baby at your expence
    I’m now a nana and had my share of bumps and lumps and my babies never got a scratch

Leave a Reply

