The Ultimate Burp Cloth

21 Oct

Monkeys! Giraffes! Cupcakes! Stripes!

It’ll be five months of spitups, drool and other bodily excretions this week, and I decided to take a tour of the top drawer of the changing table, where the various didn’t-quite-cut-it burp cloths serve out their eternal time outs.  You see, while I’ve thought about the illogic of moving directly from cleaning up a massive spitup disaster and then immediately fixing a bottle and refilling the spitup machine, I’ve chosen to keep feeding the baby.

Thankfully, my wife and I stumbled upon the ultimate burp cloth.  We didn’t realize it at the time that the bright, fun patterns on the quilted muslin cloths at our neighborhood Giggle were only in stock because they’d just arrived.  When we went back for more (hey, those burp rags rock we need more!), we got the silly new parents look, and were told they were out, and those cloths sell out as soon as they get ’em.  And I can understand why.

Here’s what you want in a burp cloth:  soft, wipes up messes easily, and above all else–has the ability to absorb massive amounts of baby messes.  And the burp cloths from Aden + Anais do the trick.  They’re quilted, soft, and somehow, they absorb endless amounts of drool and spitup without becoming disgusting. The cute cotton cloths we previously tried looked good, felt good, but ultimately turned out to be one-offs.  One good spitup and that’s that.  Into the laundry.

How much better are the Aden + Anais “burpy bibs”?  (They call them that because you can snap them around the baby’s neck and turn ’em into a quick comfy bib.  I’ve also worn them as a hat–see below)  I decided to get a bunch of them together to take a picture (above).  I grabbed the one that was in my pocket (I carry them hanging from my pocket like a daddy gangster) and another one that was in the kitchen.  Both had been in heavy use during the day.  I folded them and put them alongside the fresh ones from the laundry.  After taking the picture, I couldn’t figure out from touching them which ones were dirty.  They didn’t feel used, and they didn’t look dirty.  That’s monster.

Nifty Quilty Giraffe Rally Cap! And Good for Sudden Beer Spills, Too! (Or Drool)

Some of the ultra organic cotton cloths we previously bought would walk away from a simple rookie-level spitup and you’d see it all smeared across the rag.  Not only would the cloth be of no use for a quick drool catch, but you wouldn’t even want to put it down on your pants leg for fear of staining your clothes.

So, Aden + Anais, I salute you!  (If you want to know their logic behind their choice of muslin, and how it does the trick, it’s all laid out on their website, where you can snag a bunch for yourself.)

7 Responses to “The Ultimate Burp Cloth”

  1. shelly October 25, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    sham wow LOL get yall a few shamwows lol

  2. Hillary October 26, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    Okay I read your wifes blog all the time, and since there was a link to yours I am now reading yours. My sister is having a baby in 7 weeks, and I just bought these burpy bibs because you said they are awesome and I am taking your word for it, I’ll see what she has to say in a few more weeks when she actually uses them.

    • standupkid October 26, 2010 at 2:39 pm #

      Hi Hillary! Those burpy bibs really rock. I hope your sister likes them… but more importantly, congrats on the new baby!

      • Hillary October 26, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

        Thank you! We are all so excited, and just like you all, we don’t know if it is a girl or a boy yet, I’m guessing boy.

  3. Cindy Meltzer November 10, 2010 at 4:07 pm #

    Your wife told me about this post while reading my love letter to the a+a burpy bibs. Alas, that love affair was never meant to be… but now it’s one of my go-to baby gifts. http://www.isisparenting.com/blog/index.php/2010/11/10/tame-the-spit-up-with-aden-anais-burpy-bibs/

    Cindy, Isis Community Manager and mom of two “big” kids

  4. Nana November 19, 2010 at 3:55 am #

    I’m one of the old school moms..always looking to say a buck and the absolutly best ever spit rag that was all about usability and not how cute it is was reusable diapers
    you know how they were made and what they were to hold and just how much of it they could…now for the bottoms I was a lazy huggies all the way mom lol
    but you could get a dozen re-usable diapers for not alot

  5. Lesli December 4, 2010 at 8:45 am #

    I use diapers from West Marine boat supply store. They are thick and bleachable. They are really just old fashioned cloth diapers. Inexpensive and long lasting.

Leave a Reply

