Solid Food? You Can’t Be Serious…We’re Not Ready!

25 Oct

So we made the monthly trip to the pediatrician for the five month weigh in and measurements, and my wife and I naturally record everything and obsess over the stats, percentages and doctor comments like “very advanced in motor skills” which make us so proud.

We got all you’d hope for in the visit: our daughter’s healthy, developing normally, and looking great. And did I mention she’s very advanced in her motor skills?

But toward the end of the appointment we got thrown a massive curve: the green light on solid food.

Now we knew this was coming. We did. But with that green light my wife and I reverted to some kind of not-ready-for-primetime-parent mode that had the doc looking at us like “are you kidding?

We started stammering well what do we do? Shouldn’t there be some kind of take home instructions like we got at the hospital? What food do we buy? When do we start? How do we start? Do we use a spoon? What about temperature? What about the baby’s position? What if what that what when what how what who what what what what help.

And the doctor, essentially, said “you can’t screw this up.” But of course, we fear we can screw this up. Rice cereal has suddenly become a mind-boggling obstacle that we will likely talk about for 24 hours ahead of a cringeworthy attempt at first solid food feeding (which will be recorded in video and still form, of course).

Heading directly to the store from the appointment, we labored in ingredient-obsessed paralysis and then posed for a few “baby’s first solid food–the shopping trip” shots. Thankfully, it was not rush hour at the store and there were few witnesses.

I swear, we’re relatively intelligent, mature adults. We’ve seen things, done things, and had very few problems with any of them. So why all of a sudden do I need a checklist and some Ikea-style instruction charts to figure out how to put cereal in my daughter’s mouth?

10 Responses to “Solid Food? You Can’t Be Serious…We’re Not Ready!”

  1. stephanie October 25, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    i’m really enjoying your posts – make me laugh! and i’m glad you’re writing about this stuff…because when i have kids someday, i don’t want to feel like the only person on the planet that freaks out about baby food.

    • standupkid October 25, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

      Thanks, Stephanie! Having a baby makes you suddenly feel so unprepared for everything! What? Drive to the supermarket? Alone? Without help? What do I do?

      • Markus Bates October 25, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

        It gets even better when your child is old enough to speak and they see us guys start to stress, obsess and mumbling to ourselves about planning a nutritious meal for the whole family, “Dada, why don’t we just got to the store and get the food you need?” Brilliant! Now, why didn’t I think of that? Transition to: Drive? Alone? To the store? Then, you say to your kid, “why don’t you come with me to the store?” (I may need you to help pick out the stuff we need).

      • standupkid October 25, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

        LOL! Oh, man, I hadn’t even thought of that!

  2. shelly October 26, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    I live way down south in the country and when my kids doctors told me that I had to wait to give them solid food I was actually surprised. lol Just like all the other kids I’ve ever baby sat and helped take care of, I let the babies tell me when they where ready for some solid food. My daughter at 3 months old, suddenly there wasnt enough juice or milk to keep her full, so I added a SMALL amount of rice cerial to her bottle, and she was happy. With my son, he was 12 pounds 5 ozes and 26 and 1/2 inches long at birth, and was a skinney MONSTER of a kid. And he was CONSTANTLY hungry, so HE got Rice in his night time bottle at a month old.

    I dont actually agree with doctors that we need to not feed little babies anything, I dont think it causes food allergies like they say it does, neither one of my children are allergic to anything, well house work and home work maybe, lol.

    Just stay calm and do whatever feels right and let HER tell YOU what she wants and how much. Just stay away from peanuts. If she doesnt like the Rice Cereal mix a SMALL amount of one of the very easy baby food fruits like banana with it.

  3. Kirsten October 26, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    I’m loving this blog – as well as the blog you’re featured on by your wife!

    We also have a 5 month old and are venturing into the world of solids as well. I found http://wholesomebabyfood.com to be REALLY helpful to ease in some real foods. Hope you guys might find it helpful, too!

    • standupkid October 26, 2010 at 4:38 pm #

      Thanks, Kirsten! We’ll check that out… We read everything, which makes us a touch crazy at times…

  4. Swingset October 26, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    The first time I introduced solid food to my oldest daughter it was the rice baby cereal – and I put a little spoonful of it in her mouth and she didn’t know what to do with it! She just held it on her tongue and looked at me like ‘What am I supposed to do with this now?’ I wasn’t prepared for that! She eventually figured it out – but that first time I was all like – how do you teach a baby to swallow solid food?

  5. de October 27, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Try the Baby MumMums! http://mummums.com/ Awesomeness! They dissolve so fast, so they can hang onto it and eat(suck on it), or when you are traveling you can bring them with you and dissolve them to make the cereal. The best discovery ever with my second monster!

  6. NewBee October 29, 2010 at 2:23 pm #

    Welcome to the first step towards being a “parent/teacher”. We have a one year old and I keep saying that I can’t keep up with the things I’m suppose to be teaching him. The food is a big part – starts with the rice cereal (easy stuff, believe me), then purees (teaching different flavors and textures), then solids (teaching to chew, not through it on the floor, eat with his hands, hot/cold, etc, etc), then sippy cups (why is he trying to drink from the bottom? hold it like this, don’t inhale..), now the spoon (try to get it into your mouth buddy!)
    Then you have to teach behavior stuff – don’t touch, turn around to get off the couch, clap, point, bye bye… and the list goes on.

    But it is so worth it and amazing how fast they learn! 🙂

Leave a Reply

