Baby’s First Election Day

2 Nov

They don’t make “Baby’s First Election Day” onesies, but they should. As fun as all the “cute” holidays may be, today’s a day that’s truly important. And as a parent, I woke up feeling that, while she may never remember going with her Mom and Dad to the polls the year she was born, she was there. My Mom and Dad exercised their right to vote and all I got was this onesie.

I remember from my own childhood bumper stickers and campaign posters and a general sense that my parents cared about things like who got elected to represent them. They never forced a campaign sign in my hand or made me sit on the side of the road waving at passing cars, but they made it clear to me that politics was important in the most basic way: they voted.

So it meant to a lot to me this morning to have my daughter with us as we voted in the first election of her lifetime. I hope she’ll come to see her parents voting as something that’s basic, and simple, and important. Something that families do. And I hope when the time comes, she’s eager to vote herself, and to know who it is she’s voting for, and why.

Later in my life, I volunteered on campaigns, attended party conventions, and even did a few trips to New Hampshire to volunteer for a presidential campaign.

Now while my parents instilled in me a passion for politics, that doesn’t mean we can always talk about it. Often such talks go very, very badly. But that’s beside the point. And I fully expect that–even if it’s just to tweak the old man–my daughter will likely inform me of her willingness to volunteer for a candidate whom I can’t stand.

She’s my kid. I’d expect nothing less. That’s what I would do.

4 Responses to “Baby’s First Election Day”

  1. Elizabeth November 2, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    I have been reading your wife’s blog for a while now, and I’m currently hooked on both of your sites. I think that your family is great! Also, your daughter is adorable! Her election day picture is too cute. Keep up the good work as a writer and dad!

    • standupkid November 2, 2010 at 3:51 pm #

      Elizabeth,

      Thanks so much! It’s really hard to even be upset by those middle of the night “feed me” cries when we end up with a smiling cutie in our arms. This, of course, will be a big problem later on, when she realizes that’s all she has to do. Her Mom has me pegged as a dangerous softie in the making.

  2. Brooke November 7, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    I agree 100%!
    And I definitely think you should sell the onesie on your & wifey’s website 🙂

    Love hearing your insights on fatherhood!

    • standupkid November 7, 2010 at 10:42 pm #

      Hi Brooke!

      We can’t wait to get our daughter out to the apple orchard!

Leave a Reply

