I’ll Allow the Crawling, But Standing? No. Not Yet.

3 Dec


The phrase the pediatrician used with my wife and me at our daughter’s six-month checkup was “gross motor skills.” As in, your daughter’s really advanced in “gross motor skills.” That’s a doctorish way of saying she’s a little fast out of the gate with the crawling and, as of the other night, the standing up on her own.

My wife and I got home and were playing with our daughter on the couch. I walked off to crack a beer or something and my daughter wanted to watch, I guess. (It’s hard for her to take her eyes off her favorite parent, you know?) So she crawled toward the back cushions on the couch, grabbed them, and pulled herself up. My wife alerted me, and I turned around to see my daughter smiling like a crazy person.

It’s awesome in so many ways, and yet–SCARY! Wait a minute…this is happening too fast. We’re not even adjusted to the whole crawling deal yet. And this means I have to lower the mattress in the crib, which is going to irritate my wife to no end because it’ll be even harder for her to lean down into the crib to kiss our sleeping baby at night.

And yet…what am I supposed to do? Ask the kiddo to slow it all down and not, you know, develop? Is this what parenting is all about? You want them to be “advanced,” but you also get freaked out by it and kinda wish you could go back to the “good old days” of, say, a few days ago when she would just sit on the couch and smile?

11 Responses to “I’ll Allow the Crawling, But Standing? No. Not Yet.”

  1. Michelle December 3, 2010 at 1:17 pm #

    I remember the first time my baby stood up and I thought she was growing up too fast and in May she will graduate from high school. Enjoy your baby, they grow up too fast!

    • standupkid December 3, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

      OMG, not high school. I can’t even imagine. Talk about sleepless nights! Thanks for scaring me, Michelle!

  2. MSW December 3, 2010 at 5:13 pm #

    See, I thought gross motor skills referred to the ability to pick your nose and whatnot. Learn something new everyday, yah?

  3. myhusbandisannoying December 4, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Umm…excuse me? “Favorite parent”? I don’t know how to break this to you but…

  4. Jaime December 5, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    If your daughter is anything like mine she’ll be walking and talking before her first birthday. I actually liked the talking part because it was just so cute coming out of her mouth…but the walking scared me. All of a sudden you need gates up to keep her in one area. When you used to be able to set her down and she’d still be there when you got back, now they are all over the place. My daughter crawled for about 2 weeks and was like forget this I can walk faster. She walked at 10 months…she’ll be 8 years old in 2 months. Enjoy everything because she probably is advanced and you’ll miss it if you blink.

  5. de December 6, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    I miss the blob stage! My first went straight to walking at 10 months, and that was inSanE (and I came THIS CLOSE to getting him the helmet! haha) Now he’s 5 and my youngest is 3! It goes so quick. Enjoy!

  6. Jnet January 10, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    I really enjoyed your past posts, but I’m going to have to remove you from the list of blogs I check out since you haven’t posted anything in so long. Best wishes to you and your family!

  7. Carrie January 12, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    My little guy got onto the first stair all by himself the other day (7 months tomorrow). We need some gates stat! It’s great to see them achieve milestones, but man my heart is in my throat. Slow down boy!

  8. Runflower January 15, 2011 at 3:26 pm #

    As awesome as it is now, I can promise you that it gets better. WAY better. But it will be really hard to explain why you are not sad as you choke back tears at the second grade awards ceremony. Like I had to do last month.

  9. April February 25, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    Great post.. I don’t know why, but I kept thinking of the scene in the movie “Life as we know it”.

    “she’s standing! she’s standing!”
    “wait! no! distract her!” (not wanting to miss it)
    -gives her a very light shove, baby falls on bottom.
    “what did you do!?!?”
    “I distracted her.. I gave her.. you know, a little shove”

    Sorry to rant, just made me think of the scene of the movie.

    I am enjoying your blog. Been following your wife’s blog for quite some time now and saw the link today (I’m a little behind blog reading, yes)

    • standupkid February 25, 2011 at 8:36 am #

      LOL… well, we’re behind on blog writing, too. It’s funny how a baby can dominate every minute of the day. The rest is work, eat, a little sleep. Repeat.

Leave a Reply

